The Venetian

It’s a trait of ours to be attracted by fear as well as repulsed by it, so I was fascinated to read The Venetian. Having never tackled this genre before I decided to take the plunge. I must say, I was very glad I did.

61rrbvsmrdlThe novel picks up in 2015 with a married couple Rob and Louise who venture to Venice for a romantic weekend. It is clear by the sultry nights and bizarre sights this weekend is going to be anything but normal. I visited Venice in 1972 and recall the hauntingly beautiful sunsets behind this city of canals. Taking us on a whirlwind tour of the winding streets with their Byzantine and Gothic architecture, Struthers devises a unique tour not only for her characters, but for her readers as well.

The focus at this point is mainly upon Louise, a sensitive young woman with a passion for the unknown, and after a fractious few hours with her husband, she sees something that will change the course of her entire weekend – a veiled lady that appears to be trapped between two worlds. As Louise tries to make sense of what she has seen, her passion to visit the island of Poveglia becomes stronger.

Woven into this tale is an English lady living in 1938, a Charlotte Evans bound for Venice with her new husband, Italian doctor, Enrico Sanuto. At this point forward, the pace accelerates as we see Charlotte in love but at the same time entrenched in the mysteries cultivated by two doctors bent on a path of discovery. As Charlotte begins her employment on Poveglia she plunges deeper and deeper into a vivid frightscape where she realizes nothing on the island is quite what it seems.

It becomes clear that these two resilient protagonists, although living in different time periods, are somehow linked. What I liked about this book was the tragedy behind the mystery and the sheer horror of an emerging truth. But most of all, the evil energies we suddenly begin to empathize with. Struthers captures the darkness beyond our perception with every turn of the page.

A treasure trove of detail, filled with suspense and curiosity and a deftly crafted read you won’t be able to put down. I was extremely grateful to TBC for giving me an ARC for an honest review.

The Venetian is published by Storyland Press/Authors Reach (August 4, 2016)

Full Five Star Amazon Review here

Book Description

An Amazon International Bestseller!

For fans of Dennis Lehane’s Shutter Island, Susan Hill’s The Woman in Black and du Maurier’s Don’t Look Now

‘Welcome to the asylum…’

2015
Their troubled past behind them, married couple, Rob and Louise, visit Venice for the first time together, looking forward to a relaxing weekend. Not just a romantic destination, it’s also the ‘most haunted city in the world’ and soon, Louise finds herself the focus of an entity she can’t quite get to grips with – a ‘veiled lady’ who stalks her.

1938
After marrying young Venetian doctor, Enrico Sanuto, Charlotte moves from England to Venice, full of hope for the future. Home though is not in the city; it’s on Poveglia, in the Venetian lagoon, where she is set to work in an asylum, tending to those that society shuns. As the true horror of her surroundings reveals itself, hope turns to dust.

From the labyrinthine alleys of Venice to the twisting, turning corridors of Poveglia, their fates intertwine. Vengeance only waits for so long…

Endorsements:

Praise for Shani Struthers, author of the bestselling Psychic Surveys series and Jessamine:

“If you’ve ever watched Ghost Whisperer and enjoyed it, then you’ll love the Psychic Surveys series.” Paranormal Romance Guild

“I was gripped from the word go. Shani is fast becoming one of my favourite authors.” Orchard Book Club

“A ghost story that should stand the test of time.” Jesse Christiansen (author)

“This is one of the best ghost stories I have ever read (and I read a lot!)” Happy Customer

“Ms Struthers tells a gripping edge of your seat story of darkness and possession.” Andy Angel

“From the wickedly tantalizing opening, Highdown Hall never let’s up.” John Bowen

“A refreshing new take on an often overdone genre.” WildWelshWoman

“Eve is a poignant story with a knockout impact.” Mallory Heart Reviews

“This book had me enthralled, bewitched even with some of the wonderful descriptive passage. I was completely at its mercy throughout.” Ashrae – Top 500 Reviewer

“Shani Struthers goes from strength to strength as a writer.” Lady Roachford

Meet the Author

shaniBorn and bred in Brighton, I’m the author of several paranormal books, some set in and around my hometown, others further afield, in the world’s most haunted locations to be exact! After graduating from Sussex University with a degree in Sociology and English and American Literature, I became a freelance copywriter. Twenty years later, the day job involves crafting novels too. I don’t have much time for hobbies at the moment but when I can I enjoy reading, walking in all weathers and lazing with my family. I love chatting to my readers so do get in touch – I’ve a very active Facebook Author page and an occasional newsletter you can subscribe to (see the box below) for information on new books, competitions and special offers.

For a list of all Shani’s books on Amazon: Author Central on Amazon

More Books by Shani Struthers

Psychic Surveys Prequel: Eve – A Christmas Ghost Story
Psychic Surveys Book One: The Haunting of Highdown Hall
Psychic Surveys Book Two: Rise to Me
Psychic Surveys Book Three: 44 Gilmore Street
Blakemort – A Psychic Surveys Christmas Novella – COMING NOVEMBER 2016

For more books by Shani Struthers visit her website here

Why not visit Shani on Twitter and follower her on Facebook.

shani-banner

Advertisements

One thought on “The Venetian

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s